Flashes By Rick Griffin 8.7.2017


Less + More, a San Diego branding and design agency, is taking credit for its role in naming San Diego’s official beer called “72 and Hoppy.” The San Diego Tourism authority recently partnered with Bay City Brewing Co. to develop an official destination beer for San Diego. Having created the original Bay City Brewing brand identity, Bay City co-founder Greg Anderson recommended Less + More for creating a name and identity, according to Mike Savacool, founding partner, Less + More. “We presented a dozen potential names, but `72 and Hoppy’ quickly became a favorite,” said Savacool. “The identity is inspired by San Diego’s reliably great climate, often 72 degrees and sunny, and the hop-forward flavor.” Savacool also said his agency created a full-visual identity suite, including packaging, apparel and in-venue applications. He said the materials feature a bold, simplified color palette inspired by the Tourism Authority’s brand colors and a custom representation of San Diego’s skyline by illustrator Ogla Griesinger. 72 and Hoppy is on tap at Bay City’s tasting room, 3760 Hancock St., San Diego, as well as several bars, restaurants and attractions in the region, Savacool said. Cans and bottles are expected to available this month.

*  *  *

Radio station KyXy 96.5-FM, operated by CBS Radio San Diego, has named A.J. Machado and Sara Perry as co-hosts of “AJ Mornings,” a new weekday morning show (6 to 10 a.m.) launching Aug. 7. Machado, heard on San Diego radio stations for the past 17 years, spent the past five years on KEGY-FM Energy 103.7, also operated by CBS Radio San Diego. Perry was previously the midday personality on KFM-BFM 100.7-FM, operated by Midwest Television, Inc. “AJ Mornings” succeeds “Jeff and the Showgram” program, a weekday morning show featuring Jeff Detrow, Emily Griffiths, Laura Cain and “Little Tommy” Sablan that had aired on KyXy since 2011.

*  *  *

KOCT, an Oceanside-based TV station airing city, county and state government programs, has announced that Cemelli Espita, graduate of El Camino High School in Oceanside, was the recipient of this year’s $500 Bob Bowditch Scholarship. Espita became interested in broadcasting after attending Mrs. Strong’s video production class, KOCT said. Espitia plans to major in cinema at San Francisco State University in the fall. Bowditch was among the founders of KOCT in 1984. The scholarship intended for students seeking careers in telecommunications and media was established by Ida Bowditch to honor her late husband.

*  *  *

The Pacific Southwest chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) recently presented more than 100 regional Emmy awards in 70 categories, culled from more than 900 entries. According to Kristen Castillo, NATAS chapter vice president, recipients included:

— KGTV/10News for “Violence Erupts at Police Protest” on its 11 p.m. evening newscast; “The Now San Diego: Wildfires Sparked by Summer Scorcher” on its 4 p.m. weekday newscast; and, “Truck Careens off Coronado Bridge” on a 10News weekend newscast;

— KNSD/NBC 7 San Diego for “Riots at Donald Trump Rally” on its 11 p.m. newscast;

— KSWB/Fox 5 for its “Showdown on the Southeast Side” on its Fox 5 Morning News with Meagan Medrick as executive producer;

— KFMB/CBS 8 for “Humanitarian Crisis in Tijuana” report, as well as education and military reports;

— Fox Sports San Diego for “19 Memories, A Tribute to Tony Gwynn,” and “SDLIVE, Episode #111 with Dick Enberg;”

— The San Diego Union-Tribune for its series, “75 Years Later, Keeping Pearl Harbor Memories Alive,” in the news-historical/cultural category, produced by Luis Cruz, Howard Lipin, Peter Rowe, David Brooks, Misael Virgen and Lauren Flynn.

Awards for on-camera talent went to: Joe Little, Steve Atkinson, Allison Ash, Brian Schlonsky, Melissa Mecija and Bree Steffen, KGTV/10News; Richard Allyn, Abbie Alford and Nichelle Medina, KFMB/CBS News 8; Nina Thompson, Jason Guinter, Dave Summers, Greg Bledsoe and Steven Luke, NBC 7 San Diego; Jordan Whitley and Andrew Luria, KSWB/Fox 5; Jacob Santos, Mark Sweeney, Jeffrey Byle, Kimberly Pletyak, Henry Ford, Fox Sports San Diego; Francisco Fajardo-­Nungaray, XHAS Telemundo 33; Tabitha Lipkin, AWE TV. Additionally Dick Enberg received an Emmy award for his writing. NATAS said total number of station awards were: KGTV/10News, 14; KNSD/NBC 7 San Diego, 13; Fox Sports San Diego, seven; The San Diego Union Tribune, six; KSWB/Fox5, five; KFMB/CBS 8, four; Cox Media, two; XHAS Telemundo 33, two; AWE-TV, one; XETV/CW 6, one; and Channel 4 San Diego, one. For a complete list of 2017 recipients, visit www.nataspsw.org. The Pacific Southwest NATAS chapter includes television professionals who work in San Diego, Bakersfield, Las Vegas, Palm Springs, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara and Santa Maria. In 2016, the local NATAS chapter presented 240 Emmy awards.

*  *  *

OBIT: Don Freeman, longtime San Diego newspaper columnist and TV critic, has passed away at age 95. Freeman covered television and entertainment starting in the 1950s. Through his work he crossed paths with Elvis Presley, Frank Sinatra, Johnny Carson, Barbara Wells, Regis Philbin and other entertainment icons, including some who would become friends. He helped set standards for what makes for good and bad television, wrote comedian Bob Hope, a friend, in the preface to Freeman’s 1978 book, “Eyes as Big as Cantaloupes: an Irreverent look at TV.” While his career focused on television, he also wrote slice-of-life columns. The articles included accounts of old stories and musings about whatever interested him. There was an ode to hot dogs and beer and rants about his disdain for cats and palm trees. Read more here, http://bit.ly/2wBo4xP

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.